Justin & JMar take on Packings Tips with this Q&A

Most travel bloggers suggest packing tips. I told myself I can’t do a packing list because I am the world’s worst packer. I may be the only travel blogger that does NOT have a blog written about packing or my go-to packing strategy or how I packed for leaving the country for 4 months. Honestly, I hate packing. It’s a stressful time for going away on a trip. I normally break down because I just cannot decide on what I need and what I do not need. I may be the world’s worst OVER-packer (but hey at least I am always PREPARED!). This explains my 80 lb suitcase for my flight to Florence (don’t worry I condensed it in the airport when the flight wouldn’t let me check it).

So, I had to bring in some reinforcements to help answer your Instagram questions from my posted story. Justin from explore_with_justin traveled around Europe with me and he witnessed how much I struggled with packing for trips. This blog is here to help you not stress (and end up like me) so you become a packing pro! Check out our Q&A below.

Q: What should you NOT do when packing for a trip?

Justin: Do not overpack. I know this might sound simple, but it is the hardest thing to do. Do not overpack, you don’t need 10 pairs of socks if you’re going for 3 days. Plan your outfits, and pack neutral colored clothes that you can wear with multiple outfits.

Jacqueline: You should NOT pack your entire closet. This sounds like an obvious statement, but seriously you need to determine what you “need” and what you “think you will need.” If you think you need it, you can go without it. You also need to remember that you have to leave space in your suitcase for all of the shopping you are going to do. You should also NOT bring full-size toilet tree items. It will completely weigh down your bag and I promise Europe (specifically) will have the brands at a grocery store that you need when you run out.

ms-yFgSF8

Q: What are some of your packing hacks?

Justin: First, I get everything that I need and anything that I think I might need like a “just in case” item. Then I try to start narrowing it down from there. If I am going on a short trip for a weekend or so, I will plan my outfits for the day and night. Therefore, I know I won’t be overpacking. If I am going on a longer trip I try to pack more neutral colors that will go with anything because then I can mix and match.

Jacqueline: I normally throw a couple of dryer sheets in my luggage, so everything smells nice and stays fresh after being stuffed in a suitcase. I also thread my necklaces through a plastic straw…seriously a genius life hack that my grandma told me to do! Especially if you pack multiple necklaces, this will truly avoid any tangling. I pack all my lotions, shampoos, cleansers, etc in travel size accessories to save space. I even pack a large garbage bag to separate my dirty laundry from the clothes I have not worn yet.

ms-BHzfQO

Q: How do you pack for weekend excursions?

Justin: Like I mentioned on the question above I lay out everything and then plan my outfits for the day and night. I might pack 1 extra outfit just in case. I always roll my clothes to save more space and I try to pack light because if it’s just a weekend I don’t know how often I will be carrying my luggage so if possible, I’ll even try to bring just a backpack.

Jacqueline: For about three days, I would only pack a purse or backpack and then a rolling carry on or a Vera Bradley duffle bag to hold my outfits and toilet trees. I would not pack extra pairs of shoes because they take up too much space and they are heavy. I would just wear the pair that you are already wearing. Like Justin, I would roll my clothes to save space, but I was NEVER able to limit my packing to just a backpack (lol are you surprised). Remember, bring clothes that you can style in different ways so you can wear the same item more than once.

ms-ZOyeh2

Q: What do you put in your carry on luggage?

Justin: This ultimately depends on the trip but I pack all of the essentials in the carry-on. If it’s a long trip that I bring a suitcase I will just bring a backpack with a change of clothes and anything I will need on the flight or train. Such as chargers, laptop, headphones, book, pillow, or anything else I might want. If I’m only bringing a carry on I always make sure to take note if I’ll need a towel or can I get one/do I get one for free. I always think about what can I buy there and what do I need to bring. I tend to buy little travel packs with body lotion, shampoo, and body wash because I prefer the brands I use. This always depends on where I’m going and where I’m staying. So, make sure to look this up first.

Jacqueline: My carry on is ALWAYS packed with the most important items. I always bring my computer, chargers, headphones, and any other form of electronics in my carry on. If you are traveling internationally, I would look into purchasing an international adapter, so you can easily recharge your electronics. I always pack my glasses and contacts, so if I want to take out my contacts for an overnight flight, I easily could. I normally bring one pair of clothes in case my luggage gets lost. I also bring a neck pillow and sleeping eye mask to help me rest on the flight.

ms-3jsg4H

Q: How do you maximize luggage space?

Justin: Roll. Roll. Roll. It’s my favorite thing to do. This is the best way to do it. Also, big bulky items that you “might use” get rid of or even wear your biggest and bulkiest items on the plane to save room.

Jacqueline: I couldn’t agree more with Justin! Roll everything that you can, especially jeans and thick sweaters. But, I would avoid rolling nice blouses or shirts that easily wrinkle if you don’t have an iron on hand. You can lay these flat on the bottom of your suitcase. I strategically place everything together so my luggage is organized. Packing cubes are a great way to be organized and save space. If you are traveling during the winter, I would wear your boots and a heavy coat on the plane to avoid having them take up space.

ms-Ug7E52

I hope you enjoyed this Q&A and we could help solve some of your packing struggles! Check out Explore with Justin’s continuation of this blog on his page to learn more packing tips and tricks. Remember, do not overpack (like me) and don’t stress. You’ll be a packing pro in no time! Happy packing!

ms-bpZzNk.gif

Ciao for now,

JMar

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment