Did Someone Say Shopping?

You cannot visit another country and NOT expect to spend some money shopping. Whether it be souvenirs, jewelry, or that one staple clothing item, you are going to be drawn to it especially because it is from another country. We learned all about the power behind the “Made in Italy” label in my advertising course and how important it is to consumers to know their purchase was manufactured in Italy. For example, if you are going to spend the money on a high end, leather jacket from Florence, you want to ensure it has the label so you know the price matches the quality. It’s all about the label to prove the authenticity of purchase.

Studying abroad for four months required a little bit of extra spending for me because I am a shopaholic who has no self-control when you are surrounded by SO MANY irresistible brands. Florence is also home to Gucci and Salvatore Ferragamo so the city prioritizes fashion and design. You also are living like a European for the time being, hence you have to dress the part. Here is a list of my 10 favorite items that I purchased during my European travels!

1.) Jacqueline Bracelet

One of my favorite items from Florence was this handmade bracelet with my name on it. A local artisan on the streets of Piazza della Republica and in front of the Uffizi Gallery would create handmade bracelets, rings, and necklaces out of wire with any saying that you wanted. The bracelet was only 5 euro (probably the cheapest item I purchased) and the most authentic because it was handmade by a local. My friends and I also asked him to make us rings that say “Ciao” on them and he fitted them perfectly to our ring finger.

IMG_8559 IMG_8557

2.) A Floppy Hat

The floppy hat is such a fashion statement when traveling around Europe. I purchased mine at the San Lorenzo, leather Market located in front of the Central Market. A local, Italian man has been in charge of making hats and selling them at this same spot for years. We bargained with him and I believe only paid about 20 euro. I rocked this hat in London, Paris, and some wineries through the Tuscan vineyards.

IMG_3810
Rockin’ the floppy hat in London
65942403-334A-4C66-A771-AFA427997AEB
Why not take a floppy hat & Tower bridge selfie?

3.) Leather Wallet

I wanted an authentic leather wallet all semester, but it took me until the last three days that I was in Florence to find one that I loved. The leather market can get overwhelming. When you try to look at a product, the salesmen get in your face and bombard you with questions. I purchased this wallet at the Straw Market (the leather market where the famous pig statue is located). The salesman would not bargain with me, but the quality and style were so perfect that I could not resist. The color matches everything, the size is perfect, it has so many different slots for cards, and it says Florence with the fleur-de-lis symbol pressed into the leather on the front.

img_8562.jpeg  IMG_8563

4.) Murano Glass Bracelet

The island of Murano located in Venice is known for glass making. Murano glass jewelry and crafted souvenirs are absolutely stunning! You can find real, handmade, Murano glass all over Italy. In Piazza del Duomo, there was a shop that sold all types of crafted Murano glass jewelry. I fell in love with the bracelets and bought some for myself and my suitemates. They were about 8 euro each, they came in various colors, and they add a beautiful, pop of color to any outfit.

IMG_8560  IMG_8558

5.) Mickey Mouse Bonjour Sweatshirt 

I am not going to lie, I did A LOT of shopping at Disneyland Paris. I’ll probably not be able to return to Disneyland Paris for a long time, so why not go all out. My favorite souvenir from the parks was this Mickey Mouse “Bonjour” sweatshirt. I wanted to find something that you could ONLY find in Paris and not at other Disney parks. I found it at the merchandise store that you walk through at the end of the Ratatouille ride in Walt Disney Studios Park. It’s comfy, adorable, and truly represents the French park.

Screen Shot 2019-03-20 at 9.29.47 PM

IMG_5774
I had to rock the sweatshirt on the flight home to the states!

6.) Favorite Retail Stores

The retail options in Florence are endless. Piazza della Republica is where all of the shopping is located. You’ll find your global chain stores like Zara, H&M, Victoria’s Secret, the Disney store, Apple, etc. You’ll find all of the high end, luxury brand stores like Michael Khors, Gucci, Prada, Louis Vuitton, etc. Some other stores to check out that you won’t typically find in the states are Subdue, Mango, Odica, and Fiorenza. I got my favorite fur vest on sale from Fiorenza located in Piazza del Duomo. I got the gingham style dress that I wore in Paris from Subdue located on Via dei Neri. Subdue has very trendy clothes that can be pricey, but their sales rack is amazing! Odica is like an Italian version of American Eagle located on Via dei Neri as well where I bought my favorite black jumpsuit. Mango is a very cute chain in Europe. Florence had two stores: one was located in the train station and the other was in Piazza della Republica. I purchased a black leather jacket at Mango (instead of the leather markets) and I am obsessed with it!

IMG_2480
The vest from Fiorenza
IMG_0976
The dress from Subdue
IMG_2042
The leather jacket from Mango
img_4745.jpg
The jumpsuit (and kimono) from Odica

7.) Black Booties from Flexx

The whole semester, my roommate and I were trying to find a pair of comfy, flat, black booties that work with any outfit and that are easy to pack. I found a pair at a store called Flexx located in Piazza della Republica. The price was around 30 euro and I struggled with determining European shoe sizes. I am a size 7/7.5, but in Europe, I am a size 38. Confusing right?! Once I found the right fit, I wore these all throughout Europe. I still wear these botties all of the time in the states! They are super comfortable and work with either a dress and tights or cuffed jeans.

8.) Handmade Sandals from Capri

The island of Capri is KNOWN for sandal making. We went to Carlos’ Sandals in the mountain of Anacapri. They have 100s of sandals on display that you can choose from, but you can also customize your own pair. You pick out the style, number of straps, and color. Once you have decided your sandal’s design, the craftsman will fit your foot to the bottom of the sandal. He will ask you to come back when they are ready within 30 minutes. I customized my own design with a mix of brown and tan straps. The sandals are expensive because you get the entire experience of designing your own and getting a custom fit to your foot, but it was so fun to do with a group of my friends and I would recommend it to get the true experience in Capri, Italy.

IMG_4437
So many choices!!
IMG_4443
The expert making my sandals
IMG_6257
Spot the sandals!

9.) Dirndl from Munich, Germany

You cannot attend Springfest without wearing a dirndl or lederhosen. This was expensive (I think like 80 euro) but you wear it all weekend at the festival! I even got some use out of it for a Halloween costume this year. Dirndl shopping is another type of experience where you can get a taste of the German culture. The downtown of Marienplatz in Munich is lined with dirndl stores. The workers really help you find the right fit and pattern. You also get all four pieces (the dress, the undershirt, the apron, and bow) for one price. I really love my dirndl and shopping for it was one of my favorite memories from Springfest.

IMG_2584
Stylin’ with the dirndl and lederhosen looks
fullsizeoutput_58b6
Try not to spill on your dirndl

10.)  Fleur-De-Lis Ring from the Ponte Vecchio Bridge

My FAVORITE purchase from abroad that has a special place in my heart is my Fleur-de-lis ring from the Ponte Vecchio store, The Golden Bridge. I wear this ring every day! The stores on the Ponte Vecchio tend to sell the same jewelry. But, my roommate happened to find this ring first at only this store and we both ended up purchasing it. The jewelry on the Ponte Vecchio is known for being expensive, but this was actually one of the cheaper items we found (if you think 75 euro is cheap I guess). The fleur-de-lis is the symbol that represents this beautiful city. It reminds me of my home away from home in Florence.

IMG_4607  fullsizeoutput_58b3

Now, I know what you’re thinking…this girl is definitely broke right now after this adventure. But, I don’t regret a single thing! Sometimes you have to splurge when you have experiences like this that only happen once in a lifetime. I hope I could help you out on your retail journey through Europe!

Ciao for now,

JMar

 

 

 

 

 


One thought on “Did Someone Say Shopping?

Leave a comment